VILLAGE OF WOODSTOCK ANNUAL MEETING 2018 MARCH 20, 2018 MINUTES

The meeting was brought to order at 7:30 P.M. by Moderator Greg Camp.

The Moderator read the Warning and then turned the meeting over to Jeffrey Kahn for election of the Moderator for the coming year.

Greg Camp was re-elected as Moderator.

Greg Camp introduced L.D. 'Butch' Sutherland who came forward to express appreciation to Ann Marie Boyd for her 12 years of service as Town and Village Treasurer. She was presented with an engraved bowl from Simon Pearce in appreciation.

The Moderator read Article I and turned the meeting over to Trustee Chair Jeffrey Kahn.

ARTICLE I: To elect Village officers for the ensuing year as required by law:

Moderator- 1 year term

On a motion by Jane Soule, seconded by Sally Miller, Greg Camp nominated and reelected to the position of Moderator.

Clerk- 1 year term

Sally Miller nominated Donald Wheeler. The motion was seconded by Jane Soule. Don Wheeler was re-elected to the position of Village Clerk.

Trustee- 3 year term (Australian Ballot)

Jeffrey Kahn was elected to the three (3) year term by Australian Ballot.

Trustee- 2 year term (Australian Ballot)

Serena Nelson elected to the two (2) year term by Australian Ballot.

Treasurer-1 year term

Ann Marie Boyd nominated Candace Coburn. The nomination was seconded by Chris Miller. There being no other nominations, the Clerk cast one ballot for Ms. Coburn and she was duly elected to serve the Village as Treasurer for the coming year.

Trustee of Public Funds- 1 year term

Ann Marie Boyd made a motion, seconded by Butch Sutherland to nominate Marian Koetsier as Trustee of Public Funds for the coming year. Mrs. Koetsier was duly elected to serve as Trustee of Public Funds for the coming year.

Auditors (2)- 1 year term

Jeffrey Kahn nominated Charlie Kimbell and Corwin Sharp. The nomination was seconded by Ann Marie Boyd. Mr. Kimbell and Mr. Sharp were duly elected to serve one year as Auditors.

Fire Wardens (3)- 1 year term

Jeffrey Kahn nominated Joel Carey, Edmund Paige, and Kent McFarland, the motion was seconded by Chris Miller. Mr. Carey, Mr. Paige and Mr. McFarland were duly elected as Fire Wardens for the coming year.

ARTICLE II: To receive and act upon the reports of the Village officers.

Marian Koetsier made a motion to receive and act upon the reports of the Village officers. The motion was seconded by Joe Boyd. The Article passed as written.

ARTICLE III:	To fix the annual co	the annual compensation for the elected Village officers.	
	Moderator	50.00 per meeting	
	Treasurer	1,500.00 per year	
	Clerk	400.00 per year	
	Trustees	750.00 per year	

On a motion by Butch Sutherland and seconded by Joe Boyd, the Article passed as written by voice vote.

- **ARTICLE IV:** To see if the Village will vote to collect the Village General taxes on real estate and all other taxes levied through the Treasurer under the provisions of Title 32 VSA, Chapter 133 and fix the date of payment as November 2, 2018 and May 3, 2019.
- The Article was moved by Jane Soule and seconded by Sally Miller. The Article passed as written.
- **ARTICLE V:** To see if the Village will vote to authorize the Treasurer, with the approval of the Board of Trustees, to borrow money if necessary, in anticipation of taxes for FY 2018-2019 to defray current expenses and debt of the Village.

Joe Boyd made a motion to accept the Article. The motion was seconded by Marian Koetsier. The Article passed as presented.

ARTICLE VI: To see if the Village will vote to appropriate the sum of One Million Five Hundred Sixteen Thousand Two Hundred Forty Dollars (\$1,516,240.00) and raise by taxation the sum of Five Hundred Thirteen Thousand Eight Hundred Fifty Seven Dollars (\$513,857.00) to pay the current expenses and debt of the Village.

Total	\$ 1,516,240.00
Insurance	78,000.00
Capital Outlay	4,250.00
Village Police	851,730.00
Village Highway Total	332,900.00
Planning & Zoning	110,515.00
General Government	\$ 138,845.00

Marian Koetsier made a motion to accept the Article as written. The motion was seconded by Chris Miller.

Discussion was light with questions concerning new parking meters, insurance and how budget will affect the tax rate.

Following discussion, the budget passed as written.

ARTICLE VII: To see if the Village will vote to appropriate and raise by taxation the sum of Four Thousand Dollars (\$4,000.00) for the care and planting of trees.

Joe Boyd made a motion to accept the Article. The motion was seconded by Serena Nelson. The Article passed as written.

ARTICLE VIII: To see if the Village will vote to raise and appropriate from taxes the sum of Five Thousand Dollars (\$5,000.00) for the purpose of Village beautification projects and seasonal decorations. This money to be spent at the discretion of the Board of Village Trustees.

On a motion by Marian Koetsier, seconded by Joe Boyd, the Article passed as written.

ARTICLE IX: To see if the Village will vote to appropriate the sum of Four Hundred Dollars (\$400.00) for the purpose of paying the Trustee of Public Funds for services rendered, and approve such expenditure from income of the trust funds.

On a motion by Joe Boyd, seconded by Cary Agin, the Article passed as presented.

- **ARTICLE X:** To see if the Village will vote to appropriate the sum of Four Hundred Dollars (\$400.00) for the purpose of auditing the Public Trust Funds, and approve such expenditure from income of the trust fund.
- Ann Marie Boyd made a motion to accept the Article as presented. The motion was seconded by Butch Sutherland and the Article passed as written.
- **ARTICLE XI:** To act on any other business that may legally come before the Village Meeting.
- Jessica Abston of Who Is Sylvia, brought up having parking fee moratorium for the month of April. Jeffrey Kahn and Ward Goodenough responded with reasons why it could not happen this year.

With no other discussion, Chris Miller made a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Butch Sutherland. The meeting was adjourned at 8:20PM.

Respectfully submitted, Donald R. Wheeler Village Clerk

Signed this 10th Day of April, 2018 by the Board of Village Trustees:

Trustees

Village Clerk

Jeffrey Kahn, Chair

Donald R. Wheeler Village Clerk

Ward Goodenough

Cary Agin

Keri Cole

Serena Nelson